Hyperlocal in Hawbush

A hyperlocal blog is one which has a focus on a specific particular area – it could be a town, a neighborhood or even a single street. More broadly, hyperlocal sites are things on the web which talk about a place – they could be a Facebook page, a forum or a twitter account, as well as blogs and websites. They don’t usually call themselves hyperlocal, it’s a just term sometimes used to group these sorts of things together, and was useful to me in naming this post as it alliterates with Hawbush!

peter-plant

Hawbush is an estate in Brierley Hill which is home to a number of active community groups including a Tenants and Residents Association (TRA), Community Gardens and a Community Learning Centre (St Paul’s). Hawbush is also home to Peter Plant, a retired carpenter and joiner with a passion for his community and for social media.

Peter first attended one of our social media surgeries in January 2012, when Andy Mabbett helped Peter to learn how to set up a free blog site using wordpress.com. Peter said then: “I didn’t know about it before, I’m now aware of it and will set one up for Hawbush TRA”. A man of his word, Peter set a site up that very day – hawbushtra.wordpress.com – and a week later was using it to promote an upcoming TRA meetings, and since has used it to share news of TRA meetings, clean ups, local meetings run by the police, community events and useful information. Peter shares the posts on twitter (@HawbushTRA).

award shaped like a person holding a starIn December 2012, Peter’s social media skills were recognised by Dudley Federation of Tenants and Residents Associations, who presented him with a Social Media Award at their Awards Night 2012.

Peter’s next social media project was to develop a blog for St Paul’s Community Learning Centre, which as well as giving useful information about what’s on regularly, has a thoughtfully presented page about the venue, which is available to hire. Peter had the inspiration to include photos of the rooms, which is really useful for people looking to book a venue as they can get a sense of what the space is like.

screen grab of St Paul's Community Learning Centre blog

Peter came along to our most recent social media surgery to ask us about ways to create newsletters. He said “I was a bit nervous about coming along because I know that social media surgeries are not for creating newsletters, but now I know how to create one and share it using social media including my blog and twitter so I’m very happy.”  

At the surgery Melissa Guest gave Peter some pointers on creating a newsletter in the powerpoint software he had on his laptop and, importantly, how to add hyperlinks and create a pdf so it can be added to the Hawbush TRA and St Paul’s blogsites. Peter said “I can now create my newsletter, add links to my twitter account and blog, PDF it, add it to my blog and share it. This has been really helpful. I was really confused about how to get started with this so it’s been a big help. I can now create online newsletters for the church, my TRA and the patient’s panel that I volunteer with.”

We can’t wait to see your newsletters, Peter. I’ve added the Hawbush blogs to the #DigitalDudley local blogs page.

If you know of anyone like Peter who is blogging, tweeting, sharing photos or videos about our communities in Dudley borough please tell me about them below. 

3 comments

  1. Andy Mabbett · August 26, 2013

    Reading a story like this makes me glad I volunteer my time at social media surgeries. Thank you for mentioning me.

    • Lorna Prescott · August 26, 2013

      You are very welcome Andy. It does go to show what a difference and hour or so of time and knowledge invested can do when it’s connected to an interest and a desire to do things.

      It also demonstrates the usefulness of the social media surgery + site we use – it was very simple to find Peter in the admin side and pull up his involvement and feedback. I hadn’t realised when I started writing this account that it would trace back to you!

  2. Pingback: Comment on Bostin Beginnings by BostinCamp is back! | #DigitalDudley | We Sell Social

Leave a Reply

